News Banner

January 10, 2022

Vantage Joint Venture Awarded NASA/GSFC SES III Contract

NASA has awarded the Goddard Space Flight Center (GSFC) Software Engineering Support III (SES III) contract to Mitchell Vantage Systems, LLC (MVS). MVS is a joint venture between MCSG Technologies and Vantage Systems.

MVS will provide products and services expertise to support flight software, ground software, and science data systems, as well as software technology infusion, mission environments, software engineering, software systems engineering, secure coding, software/data systems project management, mission operations, and mission validation for the Software Engineering Division (SED) of GSFC’s Engineering and Technology Directorate (ETD). The SES III contract supports overall ETD efforts that focus on the development of reusable, secure flight and ground architectures and frameworks to reduce mission cost, maximize development schedules, minimize customer programmatic/technical risks, and increase the scientific value of information products. The SES III work will be performed primarily at GSFC (including at its Wallops location), and at the contractor facilities.

The SES III contract is an SBA small business 8(a) set-aside, cost-plus-fixed-fee, indefinite-delivery/indefinite-quantity (IDIQ) contract. The total contract value is $359 million with a five-year period of performance, beginning April 1, 2022. The contract phase-in period starts February 1, 2022.

Vantage Systems has been supporting NASA GSFC and its exciting and groundbreaking missions for nearly thirty years and is tremendously excited to continue providing our exceptional support via the SES III contract. 

September 4, 2019

Vantage Employees Receive Awards during NASA Agency and Center Awards Ceremony

During the NASA Glenn Research Center (GRC) 2019 Agency and Center Awards Ceremony Vantage employee, Michael Cuy, received the prestigious NASA Exceptional Public Service Medal Award. Mr. Cuy received the award for outstanding public service as lead engineer for the NASA GRC Burner Rig Facility, resulting in significant advancements in high temperature turbine engine materials. 

Vantage employees also garnered a number of Group Achievement awards including:

Silver Achievement Medal - Group:

(1)   Spanwise Adaptive Wing (SAW) Team: Aaron Thompson

(2)   Multifunctional Structures for High Energy Lightweight Load Bearing Storage (M-SHELLS) Team: Daniel Gorican

Group Achievement Award:

(1)   Zero Boil-Off Tank (ZBOT) Experiment Team: Anthony Bruzas, Michael Mackin, Paul McMasters

(2)   Integrated Cryogenically Cooled Experiment Box Team: Eric Carlberg, David Hervol

(3)   Orion ESM PQM Test Team: Donald Butler

(4)   12.5-kW Hall Thruster Technology Development Test Team: Arthur Birchenough, Scott Hall, Ahmad Hammoud, James Myers

September 4, 2019

Vantage Presented NASA GRC SB Prime Contractor of the Year Award

The NASA Glenn Research Center (GRC) 2019 Agency and Center Awards Ceremony was held on September 4, 2019.  During the ceremony Vantage Partners, LLC was presented its award for GRC 2018 Small Business Prime Contractor of the Year. The award was accepted by Vantage Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer Mike Ahan. The award was presented by GRC Center Director Dr. Janet Kavandi and NASA Deputy Associate Administrator, Science Mission Directorate, Dennis Andrucyk. Mr. Andrucyk was the guest speaker for the event. Vantage was also the 2014 receipient of this award.

April 1, 2019

Vantage Sponsors FIRST Robotics Buckeye Regional Event

Vantage was a proud sponsor of the FIRST Buckeye Regional High School Robotics competition held March 28 – 30, 2019 at Cleveland State University.

FIRST ( is a competitive-based education program where students design, build, program, and compete as a team using robots to solve a new challenge every year. This year’s robotics competition commemorates the 50th anniversary of the first manned landing on the moon with a space-themed robotics challenge named “Destination: Deep Space”.High school students apply what they learn in school in a challenging team effort. Skills employed include math, science, engineering, business and project management, art, video, industrial sciences, and every creative muscle they have. The culmination of a six- week design/build/test season is participation in one of the FIRST Regional Competitions. 


Vantage employees (pictured below from left to right)
Jerry Szpak, Phil Ugorowski, Malcolm Robbie, Joe Ogonek, and Joel Chaney participated as judges in support of the FIRST event.

December 17, 2018

Vantage Employees Receive NASA Silver Snoopy Award

The NASA Silver Snoopy Award is a special honor awarded to NASA employees and contractors for outstanding achievements related to human flight safety or mission success. The award is given personally by NASA astronauts as it represents the astronauts' own recognition of excellence. Vantage employees William Maul and Paul McMasters were recipients of the award for 2018.

William Maul received the Award for supporting the development of cutting-edge systems health management technologies for launch vehicle systems and subsystems as an onsite contractor at NASA Glenn Research Center (GRC).  Mr. Maul is a highly regarded subject matter expert in the development of Functional Fault Models (FFMs) and is applying his FMM expertise as the technical lead for development of the Integrated Vehicle Failure Model (IVFM), an FFM for the Space Launch System (SLS).  He leads a cross-Agency team responsible for developing the IVFM and using it to analyze the design of SLS mission and fault management capabilities.

Paul McMasters received the Award for providing significant project impact and excellent scheduling leadership in many International Space Station (ISS) research projects over the years.  In his support of the ISS Research Project, he has created the facility utilization schedules that are used to plan ISS operations in the Combustion Integrated Rack (CIR) and the Fluids Integrated Rack (FIR).  He maintains project schedules for up to 10 different projects and provides the roll up to NASA Headquarters.  His outstanding insight helps lower the project’s schedule risks and allows time-saving options to be presented to the project’s management.


Maul (1st Photo) and McMasters (2nd photo)  are pictured below receiving their awards from Astronaut Dr. Shannon Walker and NASA GRC Center Director Dr. Janet Kavandi.